Mercedes-Benz L 1000 from Premium ClassiXXs

1

After buying my first finished car model in O-scale, the Horch Sport Cabriolet, I started looking for more vehicles to display on my dioramas.

I am especially looking for everyday vehicles, which unfortunately are hard to find since most of the car model manufacturers seem to make models of the most spectacular cars in history.

Searching through the German Ebay, I managed to find a model of the Mercedes-Benz L 1000 Express delivery truck. The model is made by the company Premium ClassiXXs from southern Germany. The name sounded a bit like they might be producing adult movies instead of automobile models, but I ordered two models anyway. šŸ™‚

3

The model came in a huge display box with printed cobblestones on the bottom. After removing the two screws securing the model to the base, I could bring the model to my monastery diorama.

2

Here the nice model of the beutiful vintage truck suddenly came to life.

The model is almost completely made of metal, giving it a nice solid feel and making it feel more expensive than the 36 ā‚¬ I paid for it.
4

The original truck was produced between 1929 and 1936. The engine delivered 50 hp, which allowed the truck to transport about 1000 kg.

The truck looks somewhat bare seen from the side, and on many old pictures it is seen with company logos printed on the side. Images of the original can be seen on this site.

5

The truck have a luggage compartment on the roof, and that is actually one of the reasons why I bought the model. I believe the model would look even better with a load of crates and bags on the roof, secured with rope going back and forth.

6

The model could be given a subtle weathering at the same time. The dirty road on my diorama seems to have begun weathering the wheels already. šŸ™‚

7

I am quite fond of my new delivery truck. Being die-cast, some of its details are a bit more crude than they would be in a model kit like the Tamiya jeep, but with a bit of extra detailing and some light weathering, it will turn into a great model.

Stay tuned for more pictures when I get around to detailing it.. šŸ™‚

How do you like the model?

Leave a Reply

