Castle Diorama III: Dungeon Interior

7

Continued from Castle Diorama II: The Dungeon

Before closing off the dungeon from above, I wanted to place some interior to set the mood.

2

Since most of the castle will be built with castings from Hirst Arts molds, I checked their selection of available molds, and was glad to discover the contents of mold #85, Cavern Accessory Mold. It contained just the things I needed to fill my dungeon. 🙂

After casting the whole mold a couple of times and waiting for everything to dry properly, I gave the casts a base coat of dark green. Then I continued with dark brown for the barrels and chest and light brown for the boxes.

Everything was then shaded with a dark brown wash and drybrushed with a very light grey-brown.

3

I was painting with my friend Grimbok, who suggested I should try a new ready-mixed wash from Games Workshop called Badab Black. I was a bit sceptical, since I normally mix my washed myself, but for his sake I tried it.

The Badab Black wash has been applied to the right iron band of the chest above, and I was surprised to see how much depth it added to the metal colour.

4

This is how the barrels and chest ended up. The smaller items have also been given a bit of brown weathering powder to look dusty and old.

5

I wanted the crates to look as if they were made of fresh wood, so they got a coat of a much lighter brown and another new wash from Games Workshop.

6

After drying, everything were glued in the dungeon. Then the wooden supports was glued in as well, and the dungeon is now ready to be closed off!

I also plan to make a number of figures for a more dramatical scene in the dungeon, but I think they can be placed from the outside. Time will tell… 🙂

8

The last brightly lit shot before the roof is placed on top….

1

And now the dungeon is forever shrouded in darkness…!

Leave a Reply

